A Thoughtful Outfit

Hello my lovelies!

In the spirit of a sunless level of baking heat in the UK, I was searching through my wardrobe the other day and looking for fabrics that are more forgiving in terms of breathability. Loose-fitting being a priority. Other than a very baggy t-shirt I wear for bed, I found I was struggling. I saw this as an opportunity to purge several items of summer clothing that basically did not make me feel good, or fit me particularly well – straight into a charity bag – and I bought a couple of items from Thought (formerly Braintree), to hopefully help me through this trapped-under-cloud level of heat. Here in the North it is sometimes referred to as “claggy” weather.

Thought advertise themselves as “Contemporary Sustainable Style”, and there is a huge focus on minimising their impact on the environment, whilst making long-lasting, key pieces and basics for your wardrobe. Here we have a Maxi Skirt in “Steel”, and a striped singlet vest top in “Cloud” – I actually thought Cloud pertained to white, so I did end up buying the wrong colour…but in the end I rather liked this one, and decided to keep it. They were both in the sale, which is perhaps an odd and seemingly backwards concept for an environmentally ethical clothing company, but it does provide them with a vital boost in their sales which will benefit their supply chain as a whole. The skirt, made largely of “breathable bamboo”, is rather floaty and has a slit at the side, with a very forgiving waistband.

The top, made of “helpful hemp”, is a tad larger than my usual size, but that definitely works for my criteria of assistance in the heat. This makes sense, as the company itself originates with a desire for comfortable clothing on Australian beaches. I feel very comfortable in these, and have already mentally paired-up a number of outfits I can derive from my current wardrobe to wear with them. I really love the focus on longevity, which is a perfect counterweight to the contemporary trend for fast fashion. Each item’s tag bears the slogan: “WEAR ME, LOVE ME, MEND ME, PASS ME ON.” There are even tips on their website for looking after your clothes, which I think is a neglected art at the moment…I am entirely clueless in this arena!

One slight criticism however, is the additional contents of the order. The outer packaging is made of recycled materials and you are encouraged to care for it again, however inside was my order return form, tissue paper, a promotion for organic wine, and this rather unnecessary leaflet – inside was almost blank, barring a thanks for ordering – surely this could have just been printed on the outside packaging? Anyway, small gripes, small gripes!

I encourage everyone to have a wee rummage in the sales of more ethical sources such as Thought, People Tree, Nancy Dee, and the Ethical Supermarket, if you are in need of key pieces to boost your wardrobe. The basics are really the items that you want to last a while, and these sources encourage the use of sustainable materials, good quality manufacturing and perhaps the want to look after your clothes more, having spent a bit extra on them.

Until the next blog!

Rosie

x

Leave a Reply

