How Cruel is My Wardrobe? (OOTD #4)

Hello my lovelies!

Another quickie today, as I’m a bit rained under with assignments. This morning I read “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo, which compelled me to have a sort out of my ramshackled wardrobe. The act of unshackling the rams felt like light, easy work, but with an immediate reward. I have sentimental attachments to quite a few items of clothing, but I do love the idea of thanking them for the good times I’ve had in them, and then passing them onto a charity shop in the hope that someone else will do the same. The method which Kondo advocates involves being touchy-feely with the items you are sorting through – I do have to agree that in holding them I have a stronger sense of whether I want to keep them or not, it’s like a tangible choice instead of an airy one. Within half an hour I had established a pretty chunky pile of to-be-gones, and I am 100% cool with their departure. If only so I can bloody well find things.

(Pre-sorting wardrobe is visible behind me – said outfit is from a few days ago.)

IMG_3326.JPG

Cardigan & Trainers: Primark. I discussed Primark in my previous post.

Dress: Tesco. Okay, this dress. I recall buying it a few summers ago for around £12, and I loved its comfiness so much that I bought the same dress in another pattern – how uneclectic of me. Sometimes it’s just hard to say no to an elasticated waistband and adjustable straps. Regarding Tesco’s ethics, there are obviously repercussions for the world in supporting a GIANTLY MASSIVE wondermarket machine as a source of clothing. There are however, acknowledgments of improvement which we should be encouraging, such as swiftly signing the Bangladesh Accord in 2013, focusing on improving and maintaining the health and safety of factory workers. As far as the environment is concerned, there are active goals being set, according to their website. “We have pledged to help achieve zero net deforestation by 2020, starting with the four global drivers for deforestation that are relevant for our business: palm oil, cattle products, soy and timber. For each commodity we are mapping our supply chains to understand our exposure, and putting in place sustainable procurement policies. For example, 93% of the total palm oil used in all our own-brand UK products comes from a certified sustainable source, which we define as being a Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO)-certified ‘segregated’ supply chain, or a ‘mass balance’ system where ‘segregated’ is not available. This includes palm oil used as an ingredient in food products, such as biscuits, and in health and beauty products, such as shampoo. In terms of our own-brand food products only, as much as 99% is from a sustainable source.” You can read a Guardian interview with them below, which was published 6 months after the Rana Plaza disaster.

Tesco: How Ethical Are Your Clothes?

ALTERNATIVE FOR SUMMER DRESS:

Passionlilie Denim Blue Sleeveless Shift Dress

Chambray_Ikat_Shift_Dress-_front_23d5aced-eb41-415b-967f-cf5adcf856e5

(Passionlilie have a beautiful collection of clothing. Their dresses are made with 100% Indian cotton, fair trade and ethically produced. This one is definitely on my wishlist.)

Until the next blog!

Rosie

x

Leave a Reply

