How Cruel is My Wardrobe? (OOTD #3)

Hello my lovelies!

After a lot of deep breathing recently and feeling stressed for absolutely no reason, today is my day to give ‘sorting things out’ a solid go. I’ve decided that these little OOTD posts serve a small purpose in this manifesto of calmness, as on a very basic level they encourage me to get up and get dressed, consciously non-dressing-gowny or pyjama-based dressed. They encourage me to think, daily, about my impact on the planet, both environmentally and socially. I’ve taken to appreciating each stepping stone for its own worth, instead of jumping in the river entirely as the other side feels so impossibly far away. This stepping stone is assessing how I can adapt my habits to improve the lives of others, even if it feels like such a tiny effort. I truly hate it when people criticise small efforts on the basis of potential hypocrisy – if you’re going to do this then why in hell are you not going further? Abandoning the precept already. Yes, the aim is to keep going, but what is the point in discouraging others from making the necessary steps?

*Back to the actual blog post*

Today is a fresher Summer day in England, far from stiflingly hot but still pleasantly warm and fretlessly damp. Regardless, this morning I decided I needed an outfit with ventilation, as I am a moist human.

IMG_3364IMG_3373(I am also a clumsy human, as the white bra I am wearing is hazardously splattered with an ink stain from a pen leak many moons ago. )

Top: Primark. I was actively looking for a very back-to-basics t-shirt and discovered this for I think about £3. Admittedly I was lured in by the cost. They’ve apparently a 14.3% share of the UK clothing market, and at these prices, I am not surprised. They were also the first UK retailer to have signed the Accord on Fire & Building Safety in Bangladesh, post-Rana Plaza disaster, and they offered a large amount of compensation for those affected. Admittedly, they do have fiercely well-prepared responses to any attacks on their ethics (see below). But I don’t think I’m alone in thinking that yes, their clothes are very affordable, but they’re also not very long-lasting. The Primark-based portion of my wardrobe seems to be the one that is the holiest, bobbliest, and most likely to be replaced. This can be said for a lot of other retailers, but this is how I’ve always felt about Primark in particular. So I am knowingly buying clothes that I know will not have a decent lifespan, I think this definitely needs reassessment.

In terms of attitudes to their factory workers’ welfare, Primark have definitely addressed some awful aspects of their supply chain, which is admirable, but being adamant to continue supplying via Bangladesh without adjusting the pricing structure calls into question the lives of the factory owners and workers themselves. How are they coping with the pressure of cutting costs wherever possible? What are the physical conditions like? What are they being paid? How is this gigantic fast-fashion enterprise affecting Bangladesh’s eco system? At least the signing of the health and safety agreement and development of trade unions are steps in the right direction. I am tempted to boycott the process entirely, though this is problematic. On the one hand I am reducing the frequency at which I purchase disposable fashions, which the environment will welcome. On the other, it is the behind-the-scenes process that I think needs more urgency for change. These workers still need their living, it is simply improving this living that we need to focus on. How exactly? I am not entirely sure, but I will endeavour to make this my mission. Fairly trading companies still need our support, so I think it’s a matter of finding a balance of sourcing whilst still applying pressure on the companies that need work, to match that level of care. Let’s make it cool to care!!

How Primark Balances Ethics and Ultra-Low Prices

Skirt: New Look (via eBay). Floaty and goes with everything, you cannot go wrong. I will not apologise for my exposed belly, I like my belly and like to take it on outings and picnics from time to time. In my previous post I gave a link to New Look’s ethics.

Shoes: I stand bare-footed in my own front yard with a baby on my hip ‘cos I’m a REDNECK WOMAN I AIN’T NO HIGH-CLASS BROAD.

ALTERNATIVE TO CROPPED T-SHIRT (This one even has flamingos on it omg):

Flamingo Print Cropped T-Shirt

 

Until the next blog!

Rosie

x

 

 

Leave a Reply

