How Cruel is My Wardrobe? (OOTD #1)

 

Hello my lovelies!

As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve decided to start a little series called:

How Cruel is My Wardrobe?

It is nothing groundbreaking, just a little twist on the classic Outfit of the Day saga. What I aim to do is to assess the sources of my clothes, and how I can aim to improve and streamline my patterns of fashion-buying. I should say off the cuff (ha) that I am by no means a person who is immensely dedicated to style. I generally wear dresses, because they are very easy to just throw on, with my usual backpack (I own two and that’s about it in the bag department), and some kind of leggings and plimsolls combination. What I aim for is comfort, and I certainly don’t feel compelled to keep up with trends. I do however, enjoy buying clothes every now and then, as it feels like some serious me-time, and I enjoy finding pretty patterns. A six year old could probably put ensembles together with more class and regard for the weather conditions, nevertheless it does make me happy. So let’s start with today’s offering. All I can offer is a wiggly mirror and dubious light, but you get the idea.

IMG_3262IMG_3244

Dress: (From a charity shop) – Branded as “Anmol”. I can’t say I’ve heard of this brand before, or find much information on it, but I am happy with sourcing it from a charity shop, especially for such a good price.

Sandals: (Azalea – from eBay) – Ebay is a tricky one. Gigantically profiteering corporation…but if you navigate your way through the multitude of shops, you can find yourself a second-hand bargain whilst supporting someone who needs a bit of extra cash. Azalea appear to be a US company with no information regarding ethical standards whatsoever on their website. I’m not condemning them, this is just what I’ve found.

Belt: (Peacocks – from another dress) – Owned by the Edinburgh Woollen Mill Group, Peacocks is rather famed for its low prices and constant changing of fashion seasons. However the website actually offers quite a bit of information on its ethical standards and code of conduct. Peacocks’ Ethical Trading

“We work with suppliers all over the world. Some of these countries do not have the legal and cultural framework which mean there are ethical issues which we cannot stop overnight. That won’t stop us trying though. We go beyond a simple customer/supplier relationship investing in training and partnerships with local suppliers. We also take a hands-on approach to making sure that our provision of work and livelihoods make a positive contribution to the social and financial development of the communities with which we trade.”

Having previously been named and shamed for sweatshop-usage, it’s encouraging that there is at least easily accessible information on the matter on their website. Far from innocent, there is at least some progress in the provision of workers’ rights here.

ALTERNATIVE FOR SANDALS: Laidback London – Sandals

“Made the old fashioned way, by hand using traditional techniques while working with natural imperfections to create unique and individual products.

Creating timeless pieces that are made to last and wear better with age.

Each piece is made by hand in Africa and provides sustainable incomes for the workers while preserving their skills and artistry.”

I hope this wasn’t too dull, it’s just a little project that I want to use to encourage research into what we wear. Until the next blog!

Rosie

x

 

Leave a Reply

