The Christmas Tag! (Blogmas Day Nineteen)

Merry Blogmas Day Nineteen!

Hello my little sprigs of holly, it is time for a Christmas tag. I was not tagged by anyone (I am so lonely), but I thought it would be appropriate to do a little festive Q&A around this time. I discovered this tag over at Enthusiast Blog.

1. What is your favourite Christmas film?

The toughest question of all, straight off the bat! I would say my favourite Christmas film is probably Home Alone, and let’s go with the second one as festive New York in the ’90s is just pure magic. It just takes me back to watching it with my sister when we were little, and it’s just silly and melodramatic and hilarious all at the same time, everything I want in a Christmas film.

2. Have you ever had a White Christmas?

I have certainly had some White Christmases, but mostly when I was a kid, as they have been few and far between in recent years. What is more accurate in the UK is “I’m dreaming of a DEATHLY ICE Christmas, as what will inevitably greet you on the big morning is grey skies and icicles so big they could bring down the guttering.

3. Where do you usually spend your holiday?

At my Dad’s house, usually with my parents, my Nanna, my boyfriend and my Mam’s dog. My boyfriend and I have cooked Christmas dinner the past few years and we love it, we always try to incorporate new little bits of recipes and we listen to wonderfully alternative festive songs as we prep in the kitchen while everyone has a glass of Buck’s Fizz in the living room.

4. What is your favorite Christmas song?

Do You Hear What I Hear? All versions of it, it’s just the best.

5. Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

Usually, as we are big kids and cannot wait to give each other something. Christmas Eve is an important night to me, as we like to get as much as we can prepared so that we can relax and get ourselves excited for a big family day. I always like to have a bath on Christmas Eve too – my one bath of the year, haha.

6. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen? I think. This is said in the accent of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Jingle All the Way, of course. Love that film.

7. What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

Cooking! That and doing the annual “let’s call everyone in the family and pass them round the whole room”, when you can barely hear what anybody’s saying over the general Christmas carnage. Other than that we don’t really have any specific traditions, so we have said that we’re going to start a new one this year.

8. Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Fake. It’s covered in tinsel, Disney Tsumtsums and mistletoe, and there is a Russian hat on top.

9. What is your all-time favorite holiday food/sweet treat?

I really love gingerbread, especially the Mr Kipling’s Gingerbread Whirls. With a mug of piping hot orange-infused mulled wine. Hell yes.

10. Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I think I prefer giving them, because I really like challenging myself to think of cute and slightly obscure things that my loved ones would appreciate. Wrapping them up is so calming and fun, and I love the plethora of hugs that come with a gift-opening ceremony.

11. What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

Oh man. I would say probably an Elven shield that I received from my boyfriend on our first Christmas together. It was such a gorgeous surprise, and quite canny as I’d gotten him a Dwarven sword that year.

12. What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

Somewhere Scandinavian!

 

13. Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I am middle-range I think. I always try my best to be neat, and tie everything with twine and cute little tags, but you can usually tell which present is the last one I’ve wrapped, as the frustration has kicked in. My partner is an absolute pro though.

14. Most memorable Holiday moment?

Going to the pantomime every year in primary school was just the best. SO MUCH FESTIVE FUN, and we always got a Fab ice lolly in the interval. You can’t beat that. When I have children I am definitely getting my panto on, with bells on.

 

15. What made you realize the truth about Santa?

I don’t actually remember believing in Santa and this makes me a bit sad. I think the deal was that my parents were clearly involved in the process and perhaps assisted with the Santa gifting? I’m not sure. Eek!

16. Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

I do. I like the idea of being a different person every year, giving yourself fresh new goals and resetting your mind. Forgiving yourself for your past mistakes is also a big part of this for me, as I do not want to drag them forward with me, like chains.

17. What makes the holidays special for you?

All the little things. Going for a walk on Christmas morning and seeing all the Christmas trees lit up in people’s living rooms, imagining them having a warm cosy morning with their families. All of the music. Setting the table for Christmas dinner and finally setting everything down after hours of teamwork in the kitchen. The general spicery and toastiness of festive foods and drinks. Christmas TV specials and silly games. Being thankful for having a warm home and a wonderful family with me. The general plea to make this a happy time to celebrate being here, no matter what has happened in the past.

Until the next day of Blogmas!

Rosie

x

Leave a Reply

