My Top 10 Christmas Songs (Blogmas Day Four)

Merry Blogmas Day Four!

Yes this is a tad late, but in all fairness I worked a 13 hour shift yesterday – and when I got home my priority was bundling up in my dressing gown and demolishing a Greggs katsu curry bake and a chocolate muffin (which my partner had kindly bought for me). What I thought I’d catch up on would surely be a Blogmas staple, that is my favourite Christmas songs. I have so many, but these are the ones that currently bring me the most festive feels. What are yours? Or are there any that just grind your sleigh gears to no end?

10: A Spaceman Came Travelling by Chris de Burgh

Sci-Fi Christmas! Immensely mystical and empowering, I have always loved this song. The chorus is something you just have to join in with, and the lyrics are so subtly biblical. “There are thousands standing on the edge of the world, and a star is moving somewhere, the time is nearly here, this song will begin once again, to a baby’s cry.”

9: The Little Drummer Boy by Bing Crosby and David Bowie

Pa-rum-pum-pum-pum. I defy you not to adore this version, and the sweetest duet of Peace on Earth intermingled. Double poignancy points earned for us having lost the wonderful David Bowie this year.

8: Carol of the Bells by Trans-Siberian Orchestra

I recall first hearing a version of Carol of the Bells at the start of The Addams Family. It transitioned into Deck the Halls as carollers stood outside the family mansion and belted out Christmas cheer with utmost gusto. It then slowly panned to the roof, where the family had carefully assembled a cauldron of boiling liquid to pour over them. I always associate this song with this kind of dark humour, and the Trans-Siberian version is just orchestral magnificence. So many versions of this, but I think theirs is the best.

7: Saviour’s Day by Cliff Richard

Not Mistletoe & Wine! Omg controversial! I mean I love that one too, but to maximise the guilty pleasure factor I think Saviour’s Day just about tops it. The hilarity and earnestness of Cliff flouncing around Dorset in the video always brings me Christmas cheer, and the whole message is rather adorable. Full of joy and cuteness.

6: Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas by Frank Sinatra

There are multitudes of gorgeous renditions of this utter classic, but I settled on this one as it brought me the most warming sense of calm. The poignancy of this song will always ring true for those who have lost someone at this time of year, but there is also the sense of hope and togetherness that is undeniably moving.

5: Christmas Wrapping by The Waitresses

“Don’t think I have the energy”. I have definitely felt this in the past, and I appreciate the alternative message that this song brings. However, the main reason it made my list is the nostalgia it evokes – listening to Now That’s What I Call Christmas with my big sister in our pyjamas and getting so excited for the big day. If I were ever to have kids I hope they are as excited for Christmas as we were when we were little.

4: It Came Upon A Midnight Clear by Ella Fitzgerald

There is a more folksy version of this song by Sixpence None the Richer that always makes my Christmas playlist, but I opted instead for the most darling velvety voiced Ella Fitzgerald. Every note is rich and savoured and exquisite.

3: God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen by Pentatonix

Literally ANY version of this song, I absolutely love it. Rascall Flatts did their own country version, which was fabulous. This one by Pentatonix is a little 100mph, but it’s such a fun imagining of its choir origins.

2: Christmas Time (Don’t Let the Bells End) by The Darkness

God this was hard, this very nearly made number one. Half the time I cannot understand what Justin is saying, and the choice of attire is massively questionable in the video, but yet somehow still brilliant. If I’m in a “not really feeling festive yet” mood, this is guaranteed to make me want to deck the halls. Cannot get over how much I love this.

1: Do You Hear What I Hear? by Kristin Chenoweth

Now other than being a key feature of the Gremlins soundtrack, this has classic Christmas magic written all over it. Kristin’s version featured on her album A Lovely Way to Spend Christmas, which I still own. It’s magical, and evocative, and it has that marvellous Salvation Army Brass Band sound swelling in the background. Let us bring him silver and gold!

 

I hope you enjoyed my list! Special honours go to my Dad’s Christmas lights which we’ve owned since around the millennium, which twinkle to a soundtrack of keyboard carols and always make me so happy. We can always remember which song comes next in the sequence, instant comfort. I will see you very soon for the next day of Blogmas!

Rosie

x

Leave a Reply

