February Wrap-up (Yes, I’ve been bad…)

Well hi!

I can see a ghostly image of me slumped across my bed, January-fied in my blanketed attire and general neck-withdrawn-into-shoulders hibernation mode – promising to be a better blogger. I did not, however, specify a TIME-FRAME…

Okay, okay. Enough with the excuses. Excuses are generally not a productive use of time. Every so often, it is far more productive to just take a step back and say “Yes, I’ve been bad.” A very absent blogger indeed, but I did read a couple of books, and watched a few films. So here is my February Wrap-Up:

Books (2)

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (7.5/10)

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami (6.0/10)

Films (5)

Kingsman: The Secret Service (7.5)

Jupiter Ascending (6.0)

Inherent Vice (7.5)

The Interview (1.5)

Project Almanac (7.0)

Best Book Award, feel free to mock me for the 50/50 situation, is going to go to These Broken Stars. It was a refreshing new take on sci-fi, that focused more on survival than the imminent romance depicted in the general marketing. I believe it is part of a duology or some sort of series, forgive me for my Google laziness, so I will definitely look into the next part. Best Film, is a tie between Inherent Vice and Kingsman. The former, was a surreal and downright hilarious take on a standard private investigator story, with very clear Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas heritage. The latter was probably the closest I’ve seen to lifting a story directly from a graphic novel to the big screen without losing any of the artistry or character, and without leaning to the wrong side of parody.

That isn’t a typo on my rating for The Interview, it was genuinely the worst film I’ve ever seen at the cinema, with one tidy redeeming feature involving puppies. It has been a kind of bleak month of my struggling to concentrate in general, having long periods of anxiety and generally feeling blue. Not enough puppies in my life, evidently. Time to stop dwelling on tiny woes though. Have some perspective.

Cheers to March! I’ll be back very soon.

Rosie x

Leave a Reply

